Capsules are quickly becoming the more popular way for taking supplements and vitamins. Whether you take them daily or on occasion, the quick-dissolving shells deliver contents to the body. There are two general types of capsules: gelatin and vegan.
Gelatin or a vegetarian substitute is powdered, then mixed with water and glycerin. The resulting liquid is molded to a capsule form. Some capsules have flavor added to them before being molded. Some oils can become rancid and some medicines can lose their effect when they are exposed to UV light, so color is sometimes added to protect its contents and to add variety and options. As well as, quickly and easily being able to differentiate between supplements.
The Difference Between Vegan and Gelatin Capsules
Religious, lifestyle choices and health-related preferences factor into what we consume. Vegetarians and vegans may choose to avoid some or all animal-based products. Gelatin may be unacceptable for those following a Halal or Kosher diet since it often comes from animal hooves, bones, skin, and connective tissue. Some may simply prefer something made from plant-based products as opposed to animal-based products. Vegan capsules are made from plant-based cellulose.
The Similarities Between Vegan and Gelatin Capsules
Med Lab Supply offers a variety of gelatin, colored and flavored capsule options. Med Lab Supply’s selection of vegan capsules that do not contain animal by-products, BSE, TSE, Prion, artificial colors, corn, soy, starch, sugar, dairy or wheat. All capsules are Halal and Kosher Certified. Whether it be the food you eat or the substances that protect your vitamins, supplements, and medicine, you should know what goes into your body.